The Independent reports a national review worth millions of pounds is set to be announced in the Health and Social Care Committee report tomorrow, 6th July 2021, which will look to prevent deaths of both mothers and babies during childbirth. Sadly, it has become increasingly common to hear of baby deaths or injuries due to maternity failures. Most recently, a damning Care Quality Commission (CQC) report into the maternity services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust highlighted grave concerns into the standard of care provided in its Nottingham Hospitals, rating the services ‘inadequate’.

It is clear no mother should ever have to lose a baby, and no baby should ever suffer a brain injury due to unavoidable failures on the part of the medical care received, but it is evident the claims arising as a result of such failings account for more than half of all damages paid by the NHS.

As a result of the consistent failings within these maternity services, the Department of Health plans to carry out a review, with the first phase costing £2 million, to help the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists look at the best practises for monitoring and responding to a baby’s needs and wellbeing during labour. The study will also focus on developing national guidelines as to when a caesarean section is necessary and attention will be given to the staffing levels of maternity units in the NHS. Evidence has been presented of dangerously low staffing levels across several NHS Trusts, which has played a large part in the suffering of mothers and babies.

During childbirth every minute counts, so spotting warning signs earlier, with the right knowledge and the correct staffing levels, will hopefully prevent brain damage to babies and assist the government in achieving their ambition to halve brain injuries during birth by 2025.

As clinical negligence lawyers we represent families and children who have suffered or have lost loved ones as a result of failures in medical care during labour and birth. These claims seek to ensure any child who has suffered a preventable injury can access the services they require such as care, therapy and equipment which may assist them during their lives.

We are seeing an increasing number of women who are contacting us with concerns over care they have received during their pregnancies and birth, particularly in relation to the maternity services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

If you or a loved one have similar concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us for a free, confidential discussion.

Please phone/email Jane Williams on: 0845 272 5724 or email jane.williams@freeths.co.uk 

Alternatively, please contact:

Paul Balen:             0115 936 9388 / paul.balen@freeths.co.uk

Gemma Bedford: 0115 935 0367 / gemma.bedford@freeths.co.uk

Jessica Atkin: 0115 985 3367 / jessica.atkin@freeths.co.uk

Katy Barnett:   0845 271 6752 / katy.barnett@freeths.co.uk

Adrian Denton: 0115 985 3335 / adrian.denton@freeths.co.uk

Phillip McGough:   0845 050 3290 / phillip.mcgough@freeths.co.uk